A Day Trip: Northampton

I went to Northampton yesterday. I end up going up there every year around this time, and it’s normally to visit WEBS, the giant yarn store in Northampton, but we ended up going on a Sunday, when they’re closed.

I love the town. It’s very focused on local, organic and sustainability. It’s so incredibly hipster. I love it. There’s owls, nail art and yarn everywhere. Everything I like. One day, I’d love to live in that area!

We walked around most of the day and shopped. Boyfriends came too and it was fun to get lunch out too (we went to the Northampton Brewery, which I really recommend). It was a good lunch.

IMG_0167

I thought these soaps were so interesting! Bicycle power? They weren’t even packaged! Just had a little sticker on the outside. I have ridiculous amounts of handmade soap so I didn’t get any of these but I did get a shampoo bar. I have three of them already. I think maybe I should stop buy soap for a while.

IMG_0168

 

The BF kept telling me I shouldn’t like this. But I’m pretty sure that’s a print of Elizabeth Zimmermann, so I do love it. It was right near the parking garage we were in.

IMG_0165

 

I love this little bakery. We got some cookies and meringues. I also bought some chocolates which didn’t last long, hence no picture.

IMG_0172

 

I found that book in a used book store (there are 3? in northampton!) and I may not knit any of the patterns but I love the history behind it. All the sweater patterns are inspired by the styles that an Ohio knitting mill made over the decades. I think it’d make a great coffee table book!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

