Granola: A Recipe with Thoughts

I love to eat yogurt with granola, add fruit and that has been a staple in my diet for most of my adult life. My mother would buy it from the grocery store but once I moved out I discovered how expensive it was. My grandmother always made her own, mostly because she makes everything herself, but because of a burning incident with granola, I was hestiant to start making my own. I was totally wrong to think it was too hard – I tried it after the new year, and it’s incredibly easy. I normally make it on weekend mornings when I drink my coffee slower in the kitchen and just wait for it to bake.

Josh likes to eat it right out of the oven, when it’s still pretty warm, just dry! The original recipe has brown sugar, but I didn’t think it needed it and also happened to forget to include it this time, so apparently it doesn’t need the extra sugar.

My general guidelines:

4 to 6 cups of old fashioned or rolled oats

1 to 2 cups of any kind of nut, I tend to use walnuts because they are cheapest, but I love pecans!

1/2 to 1 cup of sweetened shredded coconut (or unsweetened, whatever works for you)

Spices – Allspice, cloves, cinnamon, ginger. A little shake of each.

1/2 a stick of butter, or less.

1/8 to 1/4 of a cup agave syrup or honey (I prefer agave)

Preheat oven to 200-250 degrees. Mix all the dry ingredients together in a large bowl. Then, I take a mug and put the agave (or honey) and butter in it and melt it all together in the microwave. Next, pour the mug mixture over the granola mixture. Stir to coat, then transfer to a un-greased jelly roll or brownie pan. The granola should not sit on the pan more than a 1/2 of an inch thick to avoid uneven cooking. Pop it in the oven and 12 minutes later, stir. Pull the outer edges into the middle, and the middle edges out, so the edges don’t burn. Put the granola back in the oven until golden brown, about 3-5 minutes. This happens FAST so watch it closely.

Then, take it out, let cool and enjoy. You could add dried fruit at this point but I love the uninterrupted crunch of this granola.

Tagged , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Granola: A Recipe with Thoughts

  1. foodandnews says:

    sounds delish, i’ve been sampling different bought ones trying to find something tasty to eat for breakfast. i’m definately giving this recipe a try!

  2. […] inspiration for this recipe has to go to knitcookrepeat for her recipe.  I’ve used the base recipe and glorified it with my own […]

Leave a Reply

